Kingston (AKA King)

Hi! My Name Is Kingston (AKA King)

So here's what we know about Kingston:

1) It's clear he was not socialized as a puppy so he doesn't get along with other dogs. We’ve been working on this with him, but with little progress so it’s important he be placed in a one animal home.

2) He's great with people...he loves 'em, sometimes a little too much. LOL He was peeing and jumping on people when first meeting. But he’s learning “down” and no longer peeing when he first meets someone.

3) He doesn’t like to be left alone, or at least that’s what we think right now. We’ve been working on crate training with him so we can get out of the house from time to time. However, we live in a small rental apartment and leaving him in a crate and letting him bark for any period of time is not really possible, so this training has been a challenge.

4) Pulling on his leash was an issue, but he’s made progress. He wears a harness for his walks, but pulls if he sees another person or animal. My husband and I are senior citizens with some physical limitations so we’ve both had our challenges walking him; more our problem than his. A home with a fenced back yard would be a terrific situation for Kingston.

On the bright side:

1) Since Kingston’s been with us he's learned to sit (with a voice or hand command), come (sometimes) and he's working on stay.

2) He’s just a huge love bug! He’s soft, very cuddly and all he wants to do is be with you, sit by you and lay by you if he can.

3) He’s a great watch dog too. He barks when strangers approach but we’ve been working with him on less barking in the house due to our rental situation.

4) He loves to play fetch and he’s crazy for his peanut butter filled Kong chew toy and his Snuffle Mat "go find" toy.

5) He loves to sun himself indoors or out.

6) Kingston shots are all up-to-date and he is microchipped. We have his original adoption, microchip and vet information to give to his new family.

7) He’s house broken so that's not a problem. He's had two accidents in the house but in both cases he let us know he needed to go out and we just did not act fast enough. Be will let you know when he needs to go that's for sure.

8) He has "his schedule" of walks, feedings and treats and pretty much sticks to on a day to day basis. We're early to bed and early to rise people so that's what he's used to. But if he's with someone who stays up late and sleeps in, I'm sure he'd adjust very quickly.

9) We've been taking him to the groomer (Petco on Marks St. in Henderson) once a month. He's not crazy about it, but his Groomer, Michael says he does just fine.

  • Mix  & Mix 
  • Male
  • Youth (2 - 5 Years)
  • 21 - 30 Pounds
  • Buff and White
  • Active and Playful
  • Not Tested With Kids
  • I Don't Like Dogs
  • I Don't Like Cats
Apply To Adopt Kingston (AKA King)
DONATE NOW       Help us take care of Kingston (AKA King)
X